Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join
Policy and Advocacy
Share |

Life Science Tennessee (LifeSciTN) is the industry’s leading business association representing bioscience companies and organizations across Tennessee, employing more than 38,0000 people at 1,200 different establishments.  LifeSciTN is active at both the state and federal level supporting policies that advance our industry. Life science industry growth means more jobs and investment to the state, and healthier outcomes for Tennesseans and people around the globe.


Life Science Tennessee hosts two legislative missions each year - one in Nashville in February and the second in March in D.C. Our legislative outreach is important for communicating the impact our industry has on our state in terms of jobs and investment and globally by creating products and services with the potential to save lives and improve well-being. 



During our legislative Day on the Hill in Nashville, we meet with the legislative leadership make presentations to House and Senate committees about the impacts and opportunities for industry growth in Tennessee. Each year, we close the day hosting a reception for legislators, staffers and members at Morton's Steak House. 

Click here to read our 2016 State policy brief. 




Upon arriving in D.C., Life Science Tennessee members receive an update from our policy and advocacy committee chairs as well as AdvaMed and Bio on the status of current policy issues. The next day the group meets with members of Tennessee's Congressional delegation and senior policy staff to discuss the issues in detail. 


Interested in being involved? Check the events page for registration or email Abby Trotter


Click here to read our 2016 Federal policy brief.


Tennessee's house congressional members:

Representative Phil Roe
Contact Form

Phone: 202-225-6356

First Congressional District: Carter, Cocke, Greene, Hamblen, Hancock, Hawkins, Johnson, Sullivan, Unicoi, Washington, Jefferson, and Sevier Counties


Representative John J. Duncan
Contact Form
Phone: 202-225-5435

Second Congressional District: Knox, Blount, Loudon, Grainger, Claiborne, and portions of Jefferson and Campbell County


Representative Chuck Fleischmann
Contact Form
Phone: 202-225-3271

Third Congressional District: Anderson, Bradley, Campbell, Hamilton, McMinn, Monroe, Morgan, Polk, Roane, Scott, and Union Counties


Representative Scott DesJarlais
Contact Form
Phone: 202-226-6831

Fourth Congressional District: Marshall, Bedford, Rutherford, Moore, Lincoln, Franklin, Marion, Grundy, Sequatchie, Warren, Van Buren, Bledsoe, Meigs, Bradley and Rhea counties.


Representative Jim Cooper
Contact Form

Phone: 202-225-4311

Fifth Congressional District: Davidson, Dickson, and most of Cheatham Counties


Representative Diane Black
Contact Form

Phone: 202-225-4231

Sixth Congressional District: Robertson, Sumner, Macon, Trousdale, Wilson, Smith, Clay, Jackson, Pickett, Overton, Fentress, DeKalb, Putnam, White, Cumberland, Cannon, Coffee, and parts of Cheatham and Van Buren Counties.


Representative Marsha Blackburn
Contact Form

Phone: 202-225-2811

Seventh Congressional District: Hardeman, Decatur, Hardin, Perry, Williamson, Montgomery, Chester, McNairy, Henderson, Wayne, Hickman, Maury, Lewis, Lawrence, Giles, Humphreys, Benton, Houston, and Stewart Counties.

Representative Stephen Fincher
Contact Form

Phone: 202-225-4714

Eighth Congressional District: Lake, Obion, Weakley, Henry, Dyer, Gibson, Carroll, Lauderdale, Crockett, Tipton, Haywood, Madison, Fayette Counties, and parts of Shelby County


Representative Steve Cohen
Contact Form

Phone: 202-225-3265

Ninth Congressional District: Part of Shelby County


Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal